But I digress…

I have been asked if I am a survivalist. I usually respond, “I’m not sure.”

Survivalist.info defines “survivalist” this way: “One who has personal or group survival as a primary goal in the face of difficulty, opposition, and especially the threat of natural catastrophe, nuclear war, or societal collapse” (Cassano, 2010).

While I am loathe to quote Wikipedia on anything, I know that lots of people turn to it for information.  So, here’s what Wiki has to say about survivalism: “Survivalism is a movement of individuals or groups (called survivalists) who are actively preparing for future possible disruptions in local, regional, national, or international social or political order. Survivalists often prepare for this anticipated disruption by having emergency medical training, stockpiling food and water, preparing for self-defense and self-sufficiency, and/or building structures that will help them to survive or “disappear”  (Wikipedia, 2010).

After these two definitions, my answer is still, “You know, I’m still not sure.”  We are actively preparing for things. We are stockpiling some supplies. “Stockpiling” may be a little strong a term for what we’re doing. We like to think of it as “putting away a little extra” food, water and medical supplies. We are reading and taking classes and learning important survival/thriving skills [more to come on these later]. But, somehow, I still don’t think of myself as a survivalist… I think of myself as a realist who’d like to be more self-reliant.

For myself,  certainly I would want to be prepared in case society collapses. In the meantime,  before society calls it quits, I’m thinking that it’s much more likely that I’ll have some other situations to deal  with:  fire in the bosque (the tree line is a mere hundred  yards from my home); flood (yep, the muddy Rio Grande is only 200 yards and one ancient levee from my house); winter storm (a few years ago, we were snowed in for five days); chemical spill (six miles from my home – as the crow flies – an ammonia spill caused the overnight evacuation of a neighborhood). So, you see, it’s not that I think that “the system” can’t  collapse – ’cause I kinda think that it’s inevitable – BUT, I think it’s more likely that I’ll have other things to deal with before things get around to grinding to a halt.

In his books and seminars, Cody Lundin frequently points out that there are different type of survival skills. While he can be a goofball, hippy dude, he makes some excellent points about skill sets and about things like maintaining your core temp, staying hydrated and getting a fire going – and he makes a living teaching those skills to people like us who don’t have them. If I can swing it, I want to take one of his classes. But I digress.

There are several types of survival skills. There’s the kind of survival you need to get you through a bad snow storm when you’re stuck at home (with all your clothes and blankets and a fully stocked pantry) and the power goes out. There’s the kind of survival skills you need when your neighborhood is evacuated because of a chemical spill, fire, or impending flood and you find yourself on the road or in a shelter. Then there’s the kind of survival skills you need when you’re driving through the desert in the summer (or the mountains in the winter) and your car breaks down. Then there’s the kind of survival skills you need when you’re hiking in the middle of nowhere and something bad happens to you (like an injury) or you get lost and can’t find your way back.

In this blog, we’ll be exploring some of those survival skills. But we’ll also explore some skills for self-reliance and thriving. Look for upcoming posts on the new chicken coop project, the garden, and the “loom room.” Look for upcoming posts on solar water heating (we’re thinking about this for the barn/garage) and other skills, goods & services related to being just a little more self-reliant.

As always, thanks for reading. ~ L.  

References

Cassano, Eric. “Survivalist.” Survivalist Information. Retrieved from: http://www.survivalist.info/index.html

Wikipedia. “Survivalism.” Retrieved from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Survivalism.

“Day of the Survivalist” poster Copyright 1986, Marathon Video.

 

One Response to “But I digress…”

  1. Conservative Pup Says:

    Hey, you guys,

    Great idea, and I love your writing. I’ll be following along; I’ve had an interest in ‘being prepared’ for years, but keep getting distracted by life and other things. I am also overwhelmed in where to start; there’s so much to learn, get, store, that it’s hard to know where to start. I feel like it all needs to be done ‘tomorrow.’ And I can’t do it all by tomorrow. 🙂

    I read The Survival Mom too, and love her. Glad you guys are writing this blog, and I look forward to reading what you’re learning.

Leave a Reply

