My multi-tool

This is the multi-tool I carry. It’s a Gerber Suspension.

I chose it for a number of reasons:

1) beefy construction feels solid in my hand

2) needle nose pliers with wire cutter

3) redesigned geometry prevents pinched palms

4) spring loaded design is easy to operate

5) tools have positive locks – no more nicks & cuts from tools that close accidentally

6) pictograms help locate proper tools in a hurry

7) Lifetime Warranty (limited like everything else, though)

I use it for everything. I practically built my first chicken coop with it. It’s proven itself in numerous instances: repairing the car, the heater, and the toilet; fixing fencing; tightening hinges; changing out light fixtures;  adjusting door locks; changing out deadbolts; changing the heating element in my dryer; opening cans; pulling staples; opening boxes… well, you get the idea. It’s chunky, but it’s rarely far from my reach. It rides in my bag or my pocket almost all the time. 

There are downsides, however. It is bulky – and it’s definitely not an ultra-light model. It’s a little cumbersome to close the tools – this is the flip side of tools that lock open. Opening a particular tool can be tricky – especially if the one you want is in the center. Still, I use the hell out of this thing – that’s chocolate syrup on the can opener (don’t ask). Knock on wood, I have yet to need it when I was wet and cold and desperately needed a tool with an edge – but under the normal circumstances of my life, it’s performed like a champ.

I paid a little over $25 for mine a couple of years ago. The Gerber website  lists it around $50, but it’s readily available online anywhere from $20 to $30 – so shop wisely.

Does this constitute an endorsement? Well, yeah. To the exclusion of other multi-tools? Well, no. I have friends who swear by their Leatherman tool. And I have friends who swear by their store brand knock-offs. I think that the important things are: rugged construction; ease of use; fit and finish – and just generally how well the tool feels in your hand. If you like the feel of it, you’ll use it and play with it. If you use a thing and play with a thing, it becomes even more usable for you. So, find your tool and use it well.

Thanks for reading.

L. –

Leave a Reply

